top of page

CTHA  Awards


CTHA Lone Star Book Award


The CTHA Lone Star Book Prize is awarded each year to the best book on Texas (with connections to the Central Texas region) published during the calendar year.  The winning author will receive a recognition plaque and $150.00 prize award at the Association's annual meeting.  The Awards Committee may withhold the award at their discretion.​

The Lone Star Book Award Committee will use the following criteria for selecting the winner(s): 

1. The work's significant contribution to Texas history and its connection to Central Texas history; 
2. The work's overall quality and depth of research; 
3. Readability and overall quality of writing to be considered as a lesser criteria/tiebreaker. 

Publishers should submit three (3) copies of each entry to the CTHA office at the address below by December 31st for full consideration. 

Lone Star Book Award 
Central Texas Historical Association

P.O. Box 6627 
Bryan, TX 77805-6627 

bottom of page